Research

Borrowing Library Materials

The Akron-Summit County Public Library is pleased to offer a wide range of materials for borrowing. Here you will find information related to borrowing library material, including information on Library cards, overdue fines, and other necessary rules.

Registering For A Library Card

Anyone living, working, or attending school in Ohio may obtain a FREE library card by registering at Main Library, a branch library, or the bookmobile. Children may obtain a library card with the consent of a parent or legal guardian. When applying for a card, we prefer to see a photo ID with current address. Since that is not always possible, we will accept a photo ID and another form of current address verification, such as a piece of mail.

Item Limits, Loan Periods, and Fines

Item TypeItem LimitLoan PeriodFines (per day)
DVD & Blu-Ray 30 7 days 50¢
Hot Picks - DVD & Blu-Ray 2 3 days 50¢
VHS - 7 days 50¢
Audio - 14 days 10¢
Playaways - 14 days 10¢
Books & Magazines, Adult - 14 days 10¢
Books & Magazines, Juvenile - 14 days
Hot Picks - Books 2 7 days 10¢
Books in Boxes 4 6 weeks none 
Book Club to Go 2 set limit 42 days 10¢
Teen Classroom Sets 2 set limit per teacher 1-6 weeks none
SearchOhio/OhioLINK Books Check with Staff 21 days 50¢
SearchOhio/OhioLINK DVDs and Videos Check with Staff 7 days 50¢
Audiobooks & ebooks from OverDrive 20 14 days none
Audiobooks from RBdigital 20 14 days none
Stem Kit 3 14 days $10 and record blocked

Hoopla Digital Media

ItemsLoan Period
Streaming Movies & TV 3 days
Streaming Music 7 days
ebooks, Audiobooks & Comics 21 days

Hoopla Limit Items

There is no limit as to how many items you can have out at a time, but you may only have 15 checkouts total per month. So if you take all 15 out at once, you're done until the month rolls over.

To learn more about borrowing Hoopla media items, visit our streaming media page.

Borrowing Privileges

Borrowing privileges will be suspended when the amount of unpaid fines reaches $10.00 (includes requesting and renewing of materials).

Maximum Fines

The maximum fine for any item is the replacement cost of that item.

Paying Fines

Customers may pay library fines at any branch, at Main Library, or pay their fines online

SearchOhio and OhioLINK

A charge of $25.00 per item will be charged for any SearchOhio item damaged or not returned. The charge for an OhioLINK item damaged or not returned is $125.00 ($75 item fee plus $50 service fee). SearchOhio and OhioLINK policies, fines, and charges are determined by the consortiums and cannot be waived or negotiated. Learn more about SearchOhio and OhioLINK.

Service Charge

A processing fee or service charge of $5.00 per item is charged for lost or damaged materials. This fee is not refunded if the item is recovered: only the replacement cost is refunded. The $5.00 service fee applies to each lost item.

Stem Kits

Due to the anticipated high demand as well as the costs for these materials, Stem Kits have specific policies and procedures in place.

Reserving Library Materials

Customers may place holds on most library materials except reference materials, Hot Picks, and Book Club to Go sets. Holds may be placed in person, by telephone, via the Library Catalog, or through the Akron Library Mobile App. A customer may have a maximum of 100 holds at any one time. Books-in-Boxes must be reserved in person or by calling the Children's Library at 330-643-9050. Book Club to Go sets must be reserved in person or by calling Culture & AV at 330-643-9035.

Renewing

Frequency

Most items can be renewed up to five times. Items that are on a hold for another customer cannot be renewed. Interlibrary loans may be renewed depending on the policy of the lending library. Learn about all of the renewal options available for patrons.

Not Renewable

Hot Picks, Reference special loans, and items that have received a final notice cannot be renewed.
An item may be renewed up to the time of its second (final) overdue notice (bill).

Notices

Customers may choose to receive hold and overdue library notices by telephone or email. Text messaging is also available by opting in to the service (see below.)

Two notices will be sent to delinquent borrowers (the second notice is the bill and will be mailed). Customers who owe $75 or more also receive a bill for the fines due through a collection agency.

Courtesy notices are sent to those who receive their notices via email or text. These reminder notices are sent three days before an item is due.

Learn more about notice options and opting in to the text messaging service.

Claimed Returned

Customers are allowed only two claimed returned items. If the item claimed to be returned is not found by the Library and the item reaches "billed" status, the customer will be responsible for paying to replace it.