Board of Trustees


Whereas, Ohio’s public libraries currently serve more than 8.5 million cardholders and have the highest use per capita in the nation;

Whereas, Ohioans increasingly use digital content as their preferred or only access to books, music, and movies;

Whereas, Digital content must be accessible to all people, regardless of personal income or physical or reading ability;

Whereas, Ohioans downloaded more than 22 million eBooks and eAudiobooks in 2018 from public libraries across the state;

Whereas, Public libraries spent millions of dollars on eBooks and eAudiobooks in 2018;

Whereas, The U.S. publishing industry earned $25.83 billion in revenue in 2018, with downloaded audio experiencing 28.7% growth over 2017;

Whereas, The major publishers have recently announced new policies for eBooks and eAudiobooks that severely limit or delay the ability of public libraries to purchase copies of materials and information;

Whereas, These restrictive policies directly and negatively affect the capacity of public libraries to serve all Ohioans and adequately provide access to materials and information;

Whereas, The new eBook and eAudiobook policies represent a significant financial burden on the operations and services of taxpayer-supported public libraries; and

Whereas, These arbitrary limitations make it difficult for libraries to fulfill their central mission of ensuring access to information for all, regardless of socioeconomic status; therefore

Resolved that the Board of Trustees of the Akron-Summit County Public Library calls upon publishers, specifically Blackstone Audio, Hachette, Macmillan, and Simon & Schuster, to reconsider these recently announced restrictive and onerous policies and engage in a meaningful and direct dialogue with libraries, library consortia, library associations, authors, and other relevant stakeholders for the purpose of creating new policies that ensure equitable access to all of Ohio’s citizens and that equitably balance the rights and privileges of readers, libraries, authors, and publishers.

Adopted unanimously by the
Akron-Summit County Public Library
Board of Trustees
September 26, 2019

Board of Trustees

The Akron-Summit County Public Library is governed by a seven-member Board of Trustees. Board members are appointed for seven-year terms by either the Summit County Executive/Council or the Judges of the Summit County Court of Common Pleas. Board members serve without remuneration.



James D. Casey | President

355 Mineola Avenue, Akron, OH 44313 | 330.376.9249

Term of Office: 5/15/18 to 5/14/25
Tenure on Board: 2016 to date
Appointed By: Judges – Court of Common Pleas

WDRichHeadshot rev

William D. Rich | Vice-President

815 Bloomfield Avenue, Akron 44302 | 330.867.0168

Term of Office: 5/15/14 to 5/14/21
Tenure on Board: 2007 to date
Appointed By: County Executive/Council


Jill C. Darlington | Secretary

995 Eastland Avenue, Akron, Ohio 44305

Term of Office: 5/15/15 to 5/14/22
Tenure on Board: 2015 to date
Appointed By: Judges – Court of Common Pleas


John L. Frola, Jr.

3197 N. Jackson Blvd., Uniontown, Ohio 44685 | 330.699.0056

Term of Office: 5/16/16 to 5/16/23
Tenure on Board: 2007 to date
Appointed By: County Executive/Council

Angela Neeley

Angela Neeley

METRO RTA, 416 Kenmore Blvd, Akron, Ohio 44301 | 330.762.0341

Term of Office: 6/17/19 to 6/16/26
Tenure on Board: 2019 to date
Appointed By: County Executive/Council


Bernard Rochford

Oriana House, P.O. Box 1501, Akron, Ohio 44309 | 330.535.8116

Term of Office: 5/16/17 to 5/15/24
Tenure on Board: 2007 to date
Appointed By: County Executive/Council


Ray L. Weber

Renner Kenner, 106 South Main Street, Suite 400, Akron, Ohio 44308 | 330.376.1242

Term of Office: 5/15/13 to 5/14/20
Tenure on Board: 2013 to date
Appointed By: Judges – Court of Common Pleas